Deutsch | English

A look outside the box – Fun Whole Wood Cabin

Wood Cabin with LED lighting by Fun Whole in a video review (sorry, German audio only).

The Chinese company Fun Whole provided me the set Wood Cabin (FH-9001) for review free of charge. Normally, the set costs about $99 or €115 and can be purchased via the manufacturer's website or Amazon.

Highslide JS
Wood Cabin with LED lighting

Until now I didn't know the company Fun Whole. They mainly offer LED lights for retrofitting. With the Wood Cabin, they are breaking new ground and launching a set with integrated LED lighting. This means that the LED lighting is installed directly during construction and does not have to be retrofitted.

Highslide JS
connecting elements at the dormers

To ensure that the modular building can still be taken apart easily, special connecting elements are used at the boundary to the upper floor and for the dormers so that the electricity can be transmitted but you can still separate the segments without having to disconnect a cable. Unfortunately, this connection is very shaky and it is not so easy to make a permanent contact. You also have to pay attention to the polarity, otherwise nothing lights up. This is not clear from the assembly instructions, only another review video from Steinküste helped me out here. You can also see a tiny plus and a minus sign on the connecting elements.

The bricks probably come from the Chinese manufacturer GoBricks and hold very well and are well made. I did not notice any scratches or dull surfaces on the tiles, which are often criticised. The surface of the tile is not high-gloss, but still acceptable. Especially for a roof of a hut in the forest.

Highslide JS
Inside the hut

The cabin itself is very detailed, a green front garden outside, some supplies in the basement and lots of detail inside. The LED in the fireplace conveys cosiness, the other LEDs are rather too bright and glaring. A dimmer would be good here or the possibility to switch the different lights separately.

Due to its fragile electronics, the set is more of a model for display and less of a play model, but here Fun Whole certainly also deliberately addresses the "big" children among us.

Plus points from my point of view:

  • (+) Kit with integrated LED lighting, so no need to install the lighting afterwards.
  • (+) Part-colour combinations that LEGO fans have never seen before.
  • (+) The stickers make a high-quality impression (but I didn't use them).
  • (+) The bricks have a good, solid clamping force.

Minus points from my point of view:

  • (–) The base plate is not flat and slightly warped.
  • (–) Dark colours are hardly distinguishable from each other in the building instructions, especially when building the roof.
  • (–) The polarity of the connecting plates for the electronics must be correct so that the light shines. This is not clear from the building instructions.
  • (–) The connection of the electronics is not very stable and it needs a lot of tact until all contacts conduct current and the lights light up.
  • (–) The roof has a clear gap at the front through which light shines out.
Highslide JS
Hard to see: different dark colous in the building instructions
Highslide JS
The base plate is not flat and slightly warped

Deutsch | English

Ein Blick über den Tellerrand – Fun Whole Wood Cabin

Wood Cabin mit LED-Beleuchtung von Fun Whole im Video-Review.

Die chinesische Firma Fun Whole hat mir das Set Wood Cabin (FH-9001) zum Review kostenfrei zur Verfügung gestellt. Normalerweise kostet das Set ca. 99 $ bzw. 115 € und kann über die Internetseite des Herstellers oder Amazon bezogen werden.

Highslide JS
Die Wood Cabin mit LED-Beleuchtung

Bislang kannte ich die Firma Fun Whole noch nicht. Sie haben hauptsächlich LED-Beleuchtungen zum Nachrüsten im Angebot. Mit der Wood Cabin gehen sie neue Wege und bringen ein Set mit integrierter LED-Beleuchtung auf den Markt. Die LED-Beleuchtung wird also beim Aufbau direkt mit verbaut und muss nicht nachträglich eingebaut werden.

Highslide JS
Verbindungselemente für die Stromversorgung der Dachgauben

Damit das modular aufgebaute Gebäude auch weiterhin leicht auseinander genommen werden kann, werden an der Grenze zum Obergeschoss und für die Dachgauben spezielle Verbindungselemente verwendet, damit der Strom übertragen werden kann, man aber trotzdem die Segmenete trennen kann, ohne dass man ein Kabel trennen muss. Leider ist diese Verbindung sehr wackelig und es ist nicht so einfach einen dauerhaften Kontakt herzustellen. Außerdem muss man auf die Polung achten, sonst leuchtet gar nichts. Dies geht aus der Bauanleitung so nicht hervor, hier half mir nur ein weiteres Review-Video von Steinküste auf die Sprünge. Ganz klein kann man auch ein Plus- und ein Minus-Zeichen an den Verbindungselementen erkennen.

Die Steine stammen wohl vom chinesischen Hersteller GoBricks und halten sehr gut und sind gut verarbeitet. Die oft bemängelten Kratzer bzw. die stumpfe Oberfläche der Fliesen konnte ich so nicht feststellen. Die Oberfläche der Fliese ist nicht hochglänzend, aber doch akzeptabel. Insbesondere für ein Dach einer Hütte im Wald.

Highslide JS
Blick ins Innere

Die Hütte selber ist sehr detailliert ausgestattet, außen ein grüner Vorgarten, im Keller ein paar Vorräte und jede Menge Details im Innern. Die LED im Kaminofen vermittelt Gemütlichkeit, die anderen LEDs sind eher zu hell und grell. Hier wäre ein Dimmer gut oder die Möglichkeit, die verschiedenen Lichter separat zu schalten.

Das Set ist aufgrund seiner fragilen Elektronik eher ein Modell für die Vitrine und weniger ein Spielmodell, aber hier spricht Fun Whole sicherlich auch bewusst die «großen» Kinder unter uns an.

Pluspunkte aus meiner Sicht:

  • (+) Bauset mit integrierter LED-Beleuchtung, also kein nachträglicher Einbau der Beleuchtung.
  • (+) Teile-Farbkombinationen, die man LEGO-Fan so noch nicht gesehen hat.
  • (+) Die Aufkleber machen einen hochwertigen Eindruck (ich habe sie aber nicht verwendet).
  • (+) Die Steine haben eine gute, solide Klemmkraft.

Minuspunkte aus meiner Sicht:

  • (–) Die Grundplatte ist nicht plan und leicht verzogen.
  • (–) Dunkle Farben sind in der Bauanleitung kaum voneinander zu unterscheiden, insbesondere beim Bau des Daches.
  • (–) Die Polung der Verbindungsplatten für die Elektronik muss korrekt sein damit das Licht leuchtet. Das geht aus der Bauanleitung so nicht hervor.
  • (–) Die Verbindung der Elektronik ist nicht sehr stabil und es braucht einiges an Fingerspitzengefühl, bis alle Kontakte Strom durchleiten und die Lichter leuchten.
  • (–) Das aufgelegte Dach hat vorne einen deutlichen Spalte, durch den Licht nach außen scheint.
Highslide JS
Schwer erkennbar: Die dunklen Farben in der Bauanleitung
Highslide JS
Die Grundplatte ist nicht plan